Father’s Day Blues

fathers-day-300x300If you’re in North America, you’ll know today is Father’s Day.

While this is a joyous occasion for many families, there are others for whom Father’s Day brings grief, indifference or painful memories.

Stemming from a quick peek at Facebook today, I see that many are happy (me included) to reflect heartfelt wishes to fathers who are present and also tender words for those fathers who are no longer around – both literally and figuratively.

For children living with divorce, adoption, death or who are estranged from their dads, occasions like this spark sadness. Many will be spend today celebrating or reflecting on good times with loving fathers yet many others will reflect on “what could have been” or “what should be.”

What does Father’s Day mean to you?

2 responses to “Father’s Day Blues

  1. My dad died of colon cancer when I was 6 years old. This day has always been hard for me – it makes me so, so sad for young me (and current, if I’m being honest) to see the photos of people with their dads. Dads who got to be there for them, watch them grow up, meet their grandchildren. I’m acutely aware of what I’m missing.

    I have a great stepdad, for sure. But I would give just about anything to have a hug from my dad, just one more time.

  2. Aw, I’m sorry, Lindsay. I wish your dad could give you a hug right now. Here are some virtual ((hugs)) from me as a poor substitute.

Leave a Reply

