Who Are You? Creativity Springs from Despair

Rock Star Status. Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

This past weekend I watched a fascinating interview with The Who’s Pete Townshend on the CBS television show Sunday Morning.

Much of it focused on Townshend’s love/hate relationship with his “rock star” status but a chunk of the interview was dedicated to his rocky childhood.

At the age of 6, Townshend’s parents sent him to live with his grandmother who was mentally ill.

The boy suffered tremendously; here’s an excerpt from the interview:

“That probably more than anything, probably far more than whether or not my grandmother tried to drown me or made my life miserable or denied me sleep or food or whatever it was that she did, whether or not any of her weird boyfriends abused me in the middle of the night, that stuff I think I could understand,” Townshend said. “What I can’t understand is why that feeling of being abandoned is so huge and so difficult to get past.”

Townshend believes that much of his intensely creative musical compositions stem from that dark period of life. The synergy between melancholy and creativity is nothing new; I’ve also blogged about this connection. It’s an arena I find deeply intriguing.

I wonder: Do all great artists/writers/singers/actors/composers come from a place of pain and despair or can you live a life of happiness and peace and still be a creative genius?

4 responses to “Who Are You? Creativity Springs from Despair

  1. HI and Wow, this is definitely a pretty powerful article regarding creativity. Creative work can come from both sides of the spectrum of life I believe, both good and bad. Its not so much that a person has to be a suffering artist to be creative. Its, in my opinion of course, has to be a matter of an individual living and knowing about life and having an experience that is worth creating a cartoon, a poem, a story, a song or something awesome and expressive out of it for others to take something from it to help them, inspire them or teach them.

  2. Pingback: A Trip Down Bipolar Road… | Kids & Mental Health

  3. Marvelous, what a website it is! This website gives helpful facts to us,
    keep it up.

  4. Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would love to
    have you share some stories/information. I know my audience would enjoy your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

