Kudos for Calm

Zen parenting

Last year, a colleague told me about the free Celebrate Calm newsletters she receives on a regular basis to her email.

“Celebrate Calm,” I thought, “What’s that? Some kind of yoga/ meditation/ zen announcement?”

Nope, it’s none of the above though it can bring on a zen-like understanding. A business owned by American behaviour consultant, Kirk Martin, Celebrate Calm appears to be a variety of things:

  • Various sets of (rather expensive) CDs on topics related to parenting, ADHD and family dynamics
  • Free newsletters and blog posts
  • Paid coaching, workshops, videos and phone counseling

As a writer and avid reader, I am picky about the media I consume.  Interestingly, the Celebrate Calm newsletters have almost always proven to be right on target and sometimes even a bizarre illustration of exactly how I’m feeling or what I’m currently concerned about. Examples? Here are some of their recent newsletter topics:

  • When kids lie or say, “I hate myself!” and “I’m so stupid!”
  • I refuse to change my child…
  • Homework Lies that Destroy Families 

Like many of you, I occasionally sign up to receive digital (or hard copy) newsletters about any number of things: business, kids, parenting, books, authors, finances, etc. and often end up clicking the ol’ spam button after a few issues. But, not so of Celebrate Calm. If you’re a parent who struggles with parenting (and hey, who doesn’t?) I am happy to share this resource with you. If interested, sign up on the top right-hand corner of the Celebrate Calm home page.

One response to “Kudos for Calm

  1. Reblogged this on Creating a New Earth Together and commented:
    Thank you for this great post about Celebrate Calm!

Leave a Reply

