Full-Time Work and Kids’ Mental Health

The work-from-home reality?

As mentioned in previous blog posts, I’ve taken on a full-time contract and have been working steadily for the past few weeks at my employer’s head office which is (thankfully!) near our home.

As a long-time freelance writer, I’ve enjoyed many perks: choosing my own clients, working whatever hours I choose (within reason), selecting interesting and challenging projects and, most importantly, spending time with my kids and picking them up from school every day.

Now, we’ve been able to cobble together an excellent plan to make up for this last month of school drop-offs and pick-ups and I’ve hired a fabulous person to help care for the kids over the summer so we’ve got that covered. My one real concern before accepting the contract: would my kids be okay? I’m so used to making them the priority that I wondered if they would suffer emotionally if I wasn’t around as much.

The good news? I think my kids’ (and my own) mental health is just fine! They seem to be thriving and, due to my husband working from home more often, haven’t seemed to notice my absence as much as I thought they might. Working out of the home allows me to meet new people, enjoy a steady paycheque, learn new skills and gain knowledge about an important field, and, perhaps, allows my children to gain independence and new skills as well.

What’s your experience with working full-time? Do you find it stressful and challenging or beneficial? Do you think children suffer emotionally when both parents work outside the home?

2 responses to “Full-Time Work and Kids’ Mental Health

  1. Hi Lisa! I’ve missed your posts but am so glad to hear that the transition is going well. Both my Mom and Dad worked full time when I was growing up; Mom retired/quit when I was about twelve. I don’t remember any difficulties with them not being home. In fact, what I remember most is being together over dinners and on the weekends. Sometimes when we work from home those lines get blurred. Maybe you’ll find you spend more time with your kids than you think!
    Wishing you luck with the new job/routine.

  2. Lisa, I think happier, more well-adjusted parents have kids who are healthier, both mentally and physically. My mom was at home from the time I was born (kid #6 of 7) until I was in middle school. I don’t think any of the kids were negatively affected by her working. We thought it was pretty cool that we were trusted alone for a couple of hours. She was actually happier working, although I was not aware of it at the time. The finances probably caused my parents less stress, as well. Hope you are enjoying your new position.

Leave a Reply

