Novel Idea: How Books Spur Imagination

Got books?

This post doesn’t have a lot to do with kids or mental health except that I’m thrilled to be sharing my love of books, writing and reading with my children. I hope that they grow to cherish books and magazines and the art of the written word as much as I do.

So much can be gained from reading and thinking about books. Bored? Read the latest best seller or a long lost classic. Lonely? Off to the book store to fondle the gorgeous paper backs, hard covers and glossy magazines. Feeling blue? Write a short story about it.

I’m in two book clubs. Both of the clubs tend to focus on literary fiction. Today I participated in one book club’s meeting. The novel of choice was Come, Thou Tortoise by Jessica Grant. I didn’t have an opportunity to finish the book but I can say it defies quirkiness and creativity. If you like word play and, um, tortoises, give it a read.

It’s my turn to chose the next selection for book club # 2. I’ve chosen The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. Originally, I thought the book version stemmed from a long-standing blog but, I don’t see anything confirming this idea on Rubin’s web site. If you go to Rubin’s site, check out the Foreign Cover Gallery under About the Book – very cool.  I can’t wait to get my hands on The Happiness Project and, ideally, get happier as a result. Bring it.

4 responses to “Novel Idea: How Books Spur Imagination

  1. Hi, Lisa–As an early and devoted reader, I’m with you on the joy of books, and how the stories they contain can take you right out of whatever bad space you’re stuck in. Thanks for two new titles to check out!–Billie.

  2. Lisa, I love getting lost in bookstores. I developed this habit when I made my first “big girl” move away from home. Somehow you (I) felt less lonely in a place filled with people seeking answers or respite in books. I’m also in a book club. We read fiction and classics. At our next meeting we’re discussing A Friend of the Family by Lauren Grodstein. Best, Alison

Leave a Reply

