Tweet Much? Who to Follow in Mental Health Field

Tweet, Tweet

Are you on Twitter? I am @UGoGrrl. You can follow me if you like. At first I took the same tack as so many others: “Why on earth would I want to ‘tweet’ in 140 characters with a bunch of strangers?”  Recently though, I learned (just like the 200 million others with Twitter accounts) that tweeting is a fun, useful social media tool that is easily incorporated into both business and social life.

Here’s a list of some of the people and organizations I follow on Twitter; they tweet about children, mental health, psychology or all of the above:

@MadPsych

PhD Candidate at York University; Therapist at The Clinic on Dupont; Guest tweeting for Ontario’s Ministry of Children and Youth Services

@HelpMeSara

Author – Am I a Normal Parent? & Character is the Key Individual, couple & Family therapist (registered with the College of Psychologists of Ontario)

@TrishRohani

Marriage and Family Therapist, wife, mother, purveyor of hope, dispeler of shame, creative soul

@CherylJackson

Host/producer of tvoparents.com, TVO’s educational parenting website.

@CAMH Media

Official CAMH twitter acct. Media rep for the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.

There are many, many more fantastic experts, laypeople and organizations to follow on Twitter. And, you can check out my quick guide to MH experts online here, too. In fact, I’ve gained much knowledge and more than a few contacts since becoming active on this tool. Are you on Twitter? Who do you follow in the parenting or mental health field? If you’re got suggestions, let me know – you can comment here or send me a DM on Twitter!

8 responses to “Tweet Much? Who to Follow in Mental Health Field

  1. Well now I follow you! (-:
    See you on Twitter.

  2. Thanks for this list. I always get overwhelmed when I try and figure out who to follow on Twitter. I still don’t have the hang of it!

  3. Lisa, this subject is near and dear to my heart. And totally understand about addictive…I wanted to write the other day on Twitter. “Hi, my name is Jan and I’m an addict…to Twitter.” But I thought I’d stay in the closet. 🙂

  4. @Jan – Well, you’re outta the closet now, my dear.

  5. I would Love for you to follow me! —-> http://www.twitter.com/IamColinSpencer – I am one of the most active #mentalhealth twitter users in the world.

  6. Pingback: Kids’ Mental Health & Family Resources | Kids & Mental Health

Leave a Reply

