May the 4th be With You: Yoda and Friends

Okay, is this headline cheesy? Yes. Funny and clever? Also yes, but I love it. Full disclosure: I “borrowed” the phrase from a friend’s current Facebook status.

What I planned to blog about today isn’t going to happen. Why? It’s sunny out for the first time in days, and, while I want to blog about serious issues pertaining to children’s mental health as per yesterday’s post, I also want to address this topic in an off-beat and fun way, too. Tomorrow I’ll share experts’ opinions on “the most discussed” topics in kids’ mental health.

May the 4th be With You

So, in honour of today being May 4th, and the fact that so many (mostly males) in my life love the Star Wars saga, I thought I’d explore how Star Wars philosophy applies to our feeling s and emotions.

And, wow, when I was searching for quotes on a variety of pages including About.com’s Movie Quotes page, I see that there are some relevant, meaningful connections between Luke, R2D2, Yoda and the rest of us; a very philosophical bunch. Here are some examples:

Anakin Skywalker:

You’re asking me to be rational. That is something I know I cannot do. Believe me, I wish I could just wish away my feelings, but I can’t.

Count Dooku:

I sense great fear in you, Skywalker. You have hate… you have anger… but you don’t use them.

Yoda:

Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.

Anakin Skywalker:

Mom, you said that the biggest problem in the universe is no one helps each other.

Star Wars plot lines often focus on “the dark side.” Obviously, while one should not equate hate and fear with the onset of mental illness, there is a connection between depression and the dark side. There’s also a link between hope, love, compassion and empathy here as well as trying to balance the yin and yang in emotional and mental health.

What’s your favourite Star Wars quote? Has the saga made a difference in your life or your children’s lives? And, will you be saying, “May the 4th be with you” for the rest of the day?

3 responses to “May the 4th be With You: Yoda and Friends

  1. I love Star Wars!! Great topic!
    This is my favorite quote: “Do, or do not. There is no try,” -Yoda
    It is so appropriate for this blogathon, don’t ya think?
    P.S. Did you know that much of Yoda’s philosophy is modeled off of Lao Tzu?
    Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Amanda

  2. I absolutely love Star Wars. I was going the Do or Do not quote also, but I see that it has already been posted. Augh!

    I was also going to put the link to Yoda saying it on youtube, so if anyone really, really misses hearing the quote in Yoda’s words, here ya go: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x51EIXjhiEU&feature=related

  3. Hi Lisa. It’s been a while since watching any of the Star Wars films, so I can’t remember any specific quote(s). Now I want to watch them all to look out for good quotes. Susan, thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

