Ode to a Blogathon

WordPress logo

As the WordCount Blogathon comes to a close (four more days!), I can say that, although I’ve blogged for myself and for organizations in the past, I’ve learned a lot about the art of blogging. This includes:

  • Using WordPress
  • Re-learning blogging basics (with assistance from Jane Boursaw)
  • The art of commenting
  • Creating compelling content
  • Publishing on the fly
  • Posting images
  • Sharing posts on Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook
  • Updating widgets and… a whole lot more. However, as you can see from the wonky bullet points in this post, I still have more to learn!

In addition, I’ve gained more knowledge about children’s mental health through new research, interviews with experts and through the useful comments that others have posted here.

Finally, and perhaps most importantly, I have met (mostly virtually) some wonderful fellow bloggers. Many of their sites are linked on my Blogroll on the right hand side of the main page. I encourage you to check out their blogs.

What do you love about blogging? Is it sharing information with others? Connecting with fellow bloggers? Learning new tools and tricks? Self-publishing? Social media? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

4 responses to “Ode to a Blogathon

  1. I love all of it but I think what I love the most is the challenge to learn new things. There is such a triumphant feeling when I conquer a new task.

    And I love meeting people from other countries. :)
    .
    j

  2. So glad to have met you! (And thank you for the link.) I am with you on the pesky bullets. Seems to be an issue for me. But this is what I’ve learned from blogging…doesn’t have to be perfect (on my blog). I appreciate what blogging offers in terms of letting go and in terms of building a community. There’s an immediate sense of satisfaction I get from posting. That’s valuable in the world of writing when it can take weeks, months, years to see the fruition of what we’re creating.

  3. I pretty much love all that you mentioned. There’s so much to learn and so many people willing to teach. What’s difficult is the time it takes. You do have to be consistent, and that’s sometimes more challenging than you’d think.

Leave a Reply

